Environmental certificate guides ecological construction

How to choose the environmental certification?

There are many different environmental certifications in use around the world. YIT primarily favours the world’s most frequently used LEED certification.

Environmental certification is always sought for YIT’s self-developed business premises projects

There are many different environmental certifications in use around the world. These include, for example, LEED, BREEAM, Miljöbyggnad, RTS, the Nordic Swan Ecolabel, DGNB, HQE, Green Globes, etc., of which LEED and BREEAM are the best-known internationally. The most frequently used certification is currently LEED, for which reason YIT primarily favours it. However, we are also prepared to apply for any other certification for our own projects that is more suitable for our customers or better known. 


What good is a certificate for?

Environmental certification systems have been established as tools for measuring and verifying the environmental performance of buildings. In addition, they facilitate the mutual comparison of properties and ensure that the principles of sustainable development have been complied with in each separate stage of the project. The external evaluation, which is an essential part of the certification, ensures that the building is designed and built, and that it eventually also functions, appropriately.

The awarded environmental certification always sends a strong message of the building owner’s environmental friendliness. Companies and organisations around the world use certifications to improve the efficiency of their buildings, to save costs and to preserve the limited resources of the Earth. Environmental certification is also a trusted way to verify the sustainability of the asset being sold and to manage risks in connection with property transactions.


What is our objective?

We always apply for the highest LEED Platinum level certification for our construction projects if feasible in view of the location of the project and unless our customer has other preferences.

Certifications used by YIT:

USGBC LEED certificate.png LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is a widely used green building rating system. LEED provides a framework for healthy, highly efficient and cost-saving green buildings. Based on the fulfilled criteria, the certified buildings are classified into four different categories: Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinium. The LEED classification system is used in more than 130 countries.
Breeam_logo.png BREEAM is a sustainability assessment method for masterplanning projects, infrastructure and buildings. It recognises and reflects the value in higher performing assets across the built environment lifecycle through third-party certification of the assessment of an asset’s environmental, social and economic sustainability performance.
THE NORDIC SWAN ECOLABEL speaks objectively about the environmental friendliness of a product and service – not forgetting product safety and quality.
  RTS-YMPÄRISTÖLUOKITUS on Suomen oloihin kehitetty ympäristöluokitus rakentamiselle ja kiinteistön ylläpidolle. Se kokoaa kansalliset laadukkaan ja ympäristötehokkaan rakentamisen periaatteet, elinkaari huomioiden.
  CEEQUAL on kansainvälinen näyttöön perustuva kestävyysarviointi-, luokitus- ja palkitsemisjärjestelmä maa- ja vesirakentamiseen, infraan, maisemointiin ja julkisten tilojen töihin. 


Read more about YIT's sustainability principles